A Day in the Life of a Weight Loss Challenge Participant

22 Sep

Hello!

Quick update, (yes, it is 4:50 AM and I’m about to BLOG!)

The first day of the Weight Loss challenge (WLC) went very good! I started the day off with a 4 mile walk with some of the girls at my gym. We left the gym at about 6:50 AM and returned a little after 8AM. The walking group is a great diverse group of strong women ranging from ages 20 (hey, that’s me!) to mid 80s, isn’t that cool? I hope that 60+ years from now I can be as strong and fit as these ladies! After the walk, I headed off to my long day of classes.

After classes, homework, miscellaneous housework and market prep, I was back at the gym. This time for the “hard Zumba class” (that’s what I’ll call it) at 5:30PM. First, I did my first weight-in. To my surprise, I actually already lost 3 pounds in two weeks! This is great but I hope I can still lose enough in the challenge! Did I mention first prize is $1,000???

My feet were already blistered and sore but this was not stopping me from doing a little extra of my favorite workout class. At 6:30PM,  the official WLC class started. From what I understood this was a core class, hence the name “Core Camp”. But no, not at all. We did a lot of lifting (we ran out of light weights so I got stuck with the 8 pounders) and cardio. So many girls signed up for the challenge, we barley had any room for cardio! I thought I was keeping up pretty good, the only thing hurting on me was my dang feet! My entire foot feels like a blister, ow!  Hundred of reps, jumping jacks, lunges, and swats later, it was core time! We did a lot of core work outs that I have never done before and I could totally feel it! My abs were on FIRE! I wish I would have pushed myself harder like I used to do in Pilates because my abs are not even sore,  b u m m e r !

Needless to say, I was pooped after my long day! I went to bed somewhere between 9:00-9:30PM and now I am up at 4:30AM for no reason. I woke up with tons of energy and don’t see myself going back to sleep in the near future. I was going to hit the gym around 6:30AM but I think my feet just might need a rest day!

Question of the Day:

Do you feel a crazy energy the day after a hard workout?

8 Responses to “A Day in the Life of a Weight Loss Challenge Participant”

  1. Rachel (tea and chocolate) September 22, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    I don’t think you mentioned that the first prize was 1000 dollars. Wow I hope you win! That core camp class sounds super intense. You’re going to be in great shape by the end of the challenge.

    • vegansunshine September 22, 2011 at 10:44 am #

      Thanks girl! I hope so. Its between about 60 girls, so if I pushed myself I think I have a pretty good chance of being a top competitor!

  2. Allison @ Food for Healing September 22, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    you are going to KILL it! so proud :)
    i usually have crazy energy for a couple hours after exercise, next day is always hunger!! since i started my training for my 5K this weekend i can never seem to get full, kind of annoying!

    • vegansunshine September 22, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

      I woke up so hungry! I usually eat oats for breakie but I had a LÄRABAR and tofu scramble!!

  3. Tara September 22, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    If you win that would be so cool!! It sounds like a pretty fun thing to be a part of – I hope I’m active at 80 as well. I love the energy I have after a good workout, though if I have a bad workout the energy can be really negative. Luckily most workouts are good!

  4. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) September 23, 2011 at 12:58 am #

    Oh my gosh, $1,000?! That is insane! My uncle did a weight loss challenge at his job and the first prize was $700. He did pretty well, but he didn’t have that much weight to lose and he was up against someone who did, haha!

    • vegansunshine September 23, 2011 at 7:42 am #

      I know! Its crazy. Most of the girls cannot afford to lose an ounce, trust me. That cuts the competition down a lot!

  5. KatsHealthCorner October 20, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    I am so proud of you! I know how much of an accomplishment this is.

    Core work is one of my favortes! I love how you can really feel it afterwards!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

