Give Me Fuel

9 May

Give me fire

Today’s topic? FUEL.

Fueling your body for ultimate strength and power whether it be in the gym, at work, at practice, or how to simply feel your best with proper nutrition.

Note: This is MY advice. What works for my body may not work with your body. I try to keep my reasearch creditable and reliable to work with most people.

So the day after Easter I did something I don’t usually do; I weighed myself.  

source

Honestly I was just curious to see how much I weigh because the last time I weighed myself was probably late 2010.

The numbers? Yeah, I’ve gained almost 10 pounds when I thought I lost some. What is up with that? I almost wanted to weigh myself later on in the week just to see if this was correct but, I didn’t. Bad weekend perhaps? Building more muscle? One reason I was curious was because I’ve been drinking A LOT of green smoothies. Not only are these super healthy, I can honestly say that my tummy looked flatter after that week of drinking them just about everyday! Again, which is why I don’t weigh myself…  how I feel vs. scale numbers. And if I did gain 10 pounds of pure fat? That’s ok too. I know I’ve been eating dessert more than one should in a day, that’s my own fault. Honestly, I don’t really see where that 10 pounds went anyway, plus, I’ve been feel pretty darn good so I’m not worried about it.

Warm weather is finally here and I am SO ready to get my fitness on!

 

With that said, I want to let my readers in on how I fuel my body before the gym, after workouts, and just throughout the day.

Before

Depending on how early I workout, I usually try to have eaten and fully digested before the exercise. Example: eat around 7:30, gym no earlier than 8:15. If I feel like I have time to eat a big breakfast this early I most certainly will.

Favorite pre-workout breakfasts choices are oats, non-sugar loaded cereals, and tofu scrambles.

Not good choices for me before workouts are bagels and “cream cheese”, cereal, just juice, just fruit, fruit smoothies, toast, muffins, and other dessert-like breakfast items. The reason I listed smoothies as a bad choice is best they leave me with too much liquid in my belly. Not good for running.

After

Good examples of my post-workout meals are protein and fruit smoothies, green smoothies, natural snack bars, peanut butter on anything.

Not so good examples of post-workout meals would be anything sugar loaded. You just worked hard! Give your body what it needs. Another bad choice in my opinion is nothing at all. Again, give your body what it means! I try to focus on eating lean protein after workouts to rebuild my strength, especially after weight training or running!

Everyday

If you eat crap all day, you’re going to feel like just that. I don’t know about you, but I don’t enjoy feeling like crap whether I’m at the gym, school, work, or just hanging out. It’s not fun! On a good day, I typically eat 3 good meals with 2-3 good-sized snacks. Now, my days not always the same schedule so this gets a little tricky, here’s where my good friend planning comes in handy.

For example, MONDAYS

I wake up at 5:45, eat a small snack before the gym. Usually an apple with PB or raw nuts.
I get home from Zumba/coffee around 9:00, I’m pretty hungry now so I’ll eat a nice bowl of oatmeal or maybe a protein smoothie for a second breakfast. I usually make this meal high in protein.
Then, I shower, do homework, blog, prep food, whatever until a little after noon then eat a good lunch that focuses on good carbs and vegetables.
Classes from 1:00-5:00, if I’m not going home right afterwards, I’ll pack a dinner. Usually I go gome and eat a dinner that focuses on veggies and protein.
I’d like to say I don’t eat 7:00 but, I usually do snack on not so processed snacks like pretzels, chips and salsa/bean dip, hummus, gram crackers or fruit. I usually eat dessert too that always homemade. :)

Not EVERY Monday is like this but, you get the idea.

Other healthy on-the-go tips to always stay properly fueled:

+When I am at school I always keep healthy snacks on hand such as date bars, bananas, apples, and granola.

+On day trips, or other long trips a small cooler packed with healthy snacks is also a good idea.

+Apples, oranges, and bananas travel well.

+If you didn’t pack food, stopping at a grocery store is usually a better choice than fast food.

+If you stop at a grocery store, you can always pick up fresh fruit (a lot cheaper than that .89 cent banana at the gas station) and nuts.

+Always carry a water bottle!

What are your favorite foods to fuel your body?

25 Responses to “Give Me Fuel”

  1. katshealthcorner May 9, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    Some of my favorite foods taht fuel my body are OATS and PEANUT BUTTAH!!! They are my faves!

    I didn’t know you woke up that early! YAY for early risers! :)

  2. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! May 9, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    Some of my fave foods to fuel up are yogurt, homemade healthy baked goods, green smoothies, or rice cakes with PB! Yum!

  3. Rachel (tea and chocolate) May 9, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    Great tips on proper fueling! I go through stages where I eat too much sugar or dessert and start feeling bad. My favorite foods to fuel up have to be low in sugar and involve some kind of healthy fat like nuts.

  4. Tara May 9, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    I like to fuel for exercise with fruit combined with nuts or nut butter. A larabar or clif bar is my favorite on the go! I also like to have fruit, nuts, or cereal as snacks at school. Lately I’ve been loving dry roasted edamame too since it’s protein packed.

  5. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) May 10, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    Scales are evil! I stopped weighing myself for Lent, and since then, I haven’t really been doing it that much. My weight fluctuates like crazy- I have seen a 10 pound jump on the scale overnight, so I try not to pay attention to it. I love your fueling tips!

    • vegansunshine May 10, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

      Wow, I am so scared to check my weight again! I don’t even want to care. That’s awesome that you gave that up for Lent.

  6. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons May 10, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    I like smoothies as a post-workout treat but beforehand… they give me really bad reflux I noticed… and reflux is noooo bueno during kickboxing! omg! Once I thought I would be sick in class! eep!

    bagels are out for me too. i miss them… sigh!

  7. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) May 10, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    This is a really interesting post! I love seeing what works for others, especially with morning workouts. I’m still trying to figure that out myself! I’m thinking I’ll try the cereal thing one of these days. :) As far as fuel, I just know I can’t do anything on a totally empty stomach!

    • vegansunshine May 10, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

      Agreed with the empty tummy. I’m just always hungry!

  8. allieksmith May 10, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    Great post! I liked hearing about what fuels you! I would have to say that peanut butter fuels me :)

  9. Jessica @ Dishin' About Nutrition May 10, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    This is an awesome topic and great tips! Often I think we forget WHY we have to eat. Fueling out body to function the best way possible is the most important thing!

  10. pumpedforpumpkin May 10, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    Just came across your blog! This post completely answers the question I posted today! Your input was so helpful. I usually try to get protein after a workout but sometimes it doesn’t always work.
    Do you use any protein supplements?

    • vegansunshine May 10, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

      Well I am glad you stopped by! I can’t wait to check out your post. I do like to use protein powder in my smoothie! So refreshing after a workout! :)

  11. Ellie May 10, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    I love how well-rounded your view on health and image is Whitney! way to go girl~ :D I agree about the liquid sloshing in the tummy during workouts haha

  12. Stephanie May 10, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    I <3 greens and starches! I hardly eat anything that doesn't fit into that category other than carrots, apples and bananas. Sweet potatoes, beans, whole grains and dark leafy vegetables are my loves and I feel the best when I eat a diet mostly comprised of them. I hate it when people demonize starchy vegetables or say they don't like greens. I'm like, how do you LIVE?

  13. runyogarepeat May 12, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    I love what you said about if you give your body crap, you’ll feel like crap. So true! I always carry snacks with me to have in between classes or when I’m on the go and just hungry. My favorite snacks are a bag of homemade trail mix – I just throw some mixed nuts, dried fruit, and other yummy things together.

    • vegansunshine May 12, 2011 at 10:40 am #

      Oh I love homemade trail mix! But you forgot the chocolate chips! ;)

  14. vegan aphrodite May 15, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Great post! Love to see how other training vegans eats! I like that it seems like to dont fear food! Fuel is so importent! Tho, I have a hard time trusting that my body needs as much as it calls for!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My 7 Links « - August 11, 2011

    [...] my Give Me Fuel seemed to be quite a hit. I really enjoyed writing it and I wish I had time to write more helpful [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

