WIAW week 14

27 Apr

AKA last day of winter classes! Whoop!

 

Breakfast- oats, a new way.

Oats a new way:

Vanilla Almond Raspberry Oats

Bring a 1/2 cup of soy milk and a 1/2 cup of water to a boil. Add 1/2 cup of oats, 1 T of your almond butter, a scoop of vanilla protein powder and 1/4 cup of frozen raspberries reduce heat and let cook on medium heat for 4 minutes. Stir in 1 t pure vanilla extract and top with almonds and a dash of cinnamon. Serve immediately.

Lunch

unpictured veggie pizza! loaded with mushrooms, squash, onions, and red bell peppers topped with spouts!

 

Snacks- more oats, a different way (granola) & yesterday’s bean dip.

Dinner- Beans and rice.

Sometimes I forget how much I love beans and rice! So simple and cheap!

What did YOU eat today?

13 Responses to “WIAW week 14”

  1. Allison @ Food For Healing April 27, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    i love added flavours to oats, or greek yogurt. there is so many ways to experiment!
    I am doing my first wiaw post tonight, so you’ll just have to read that to see what i ate :P

  2. Ma Ma Megan April 27, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    I’m planning on doing my first WIAW next week. Whoo.
    I just ate a green smoothie actually. Now I’m cold. brrr but oh my was it good ;)

  3. Stephanie April 28, 2011 at 5:02 am #

    Oh god, beans and rice are TOO GOOD. So cheap, so filling, and so delicious.
    I was totally going to do a wiaw post today but I forgot to take pictures :'( I had a banana sliced in a papaya, topped with cinnamon for breakfast, and then I had half a wrap with smoked tofu, lettuce, guacamole (omg so good), sprouts and peppers and a Hugh Jass salad with mixed greens, sunflower seeds, mushrooms, raisins and balsamic vinaigrette for lunch. For dinner I had a whole bunch of stuff from the hot bar at Caper’s on a rather large bed of greens. I flew home today (woop woop!) so at the aiport my mom and I split a fruit cup and a ginger molasses cookie from Starbucks (they’re vegan! Not good for you but vegan according to their website last time I checked!), as well as a jam thumbprint cookie from Caper’s. I had a tall Zen green tea from Starbucks, too. Agh. I’m literally still full from all the food I had today, and I haven’t eaten in like, eight hours. Oh well. At least it was all nommy and stuff =) Also despite still feeling full/not really “full” but more just not at all hungry or in the mood to eat, I’m really looking forward to oats tomorrow morning, and I think it has something to do with this post. Also also, I love that you served them in a mug! I always eat soup in a mug (because it totally tastes better that way. Idk why but it just does), but somehow I’ve never even thought to eat my grains out of a mug. Thanks for the idea!

    • vegansunshine April 28, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

      Wow your breakfast sounds amazing! So does that cookie! Yummy.

  4. sufei'sworld April 28, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    hi , you’re recipes look really creative :)
    i get busy some weeks and end up making the same looking oatmeal again and again .

    i’ll prolly try some different ideas out tomorrow !

    i had fresh strawberries today :3

  5. The Teenage Taste April 28, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    I love rice and beans. It’s so easy to make, cheap, and the best part is that it tastes deeeelicious! What kind of beans did you use? I always use either kidney or black beans.

  6. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 28, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    I’m crossing my arms and pouting. I didn’t say I liked twinkies. I think they are bad news bears. Why does everyone always leave me comments that say “i dont like that!” or “gross!” =( what did i doooo!?!?!? I still heart you. I’m just getting soooo many comments like that everytime I have a food in my post and I dunno why? help!

    • vegansunshine April 28, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

      Noo jenny I didn’t mean it like that I was agreeing with you!

  7. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons April 28, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    bt-dub i love your wiaw… the vanilla almond raspberry oats sound so flipping awesome =) and so do the beans and rice – I forget too how much I love eating them sometimes! Need to make em more!

  8. Katherine: Unemployed April 29, 2011 at 4:22 am #

    Congrats on last day of classes! I’m loving the looks of that bean dip

  9. eva626 April 29, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    lime water, a huge orange, and boiled egg sandwich and then had like four chocolate wafer sticks for breakfast dessert!

    • eva626 April 29, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      ^ and sunchips for snack…its noon and im at school so the eating will continue soon lol

  10. Christin@purplebirdblog May 1, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    I totally need to hook up the beans and rice meals for the week… I’m broke! ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

