Protein Powder Power!

7 Nov

 Thanks to everyone who gave me advice on my last post, how thoughtful :)

I’m feeling a lot better. I’m just going to work as hard as I can for now and see what happens. I have been studying a biology book and I plan to continue my quest for bio knowledge until next semester!

As I’ve mentioned before I have been doing a lot more strength training lately and because of that I have upped my protein intake. Not because I was not getting enough protein before, but simply because I want to understand how I would feel if I did consume more protein.

I know all of us vegetarians hate that question: where do you get your protein? Because we have educated ourselves we now know that protein is everywhere! But lets save that post fo a different day, shall we?

As most vegans, I get most of my protein from foods like beans, lentils, nuts, unprocessed soy, and the occasional protein powder.

Protein does not have to come from animals!

Since I have been trying to build more muscle I have been increasing my intake on protein powder just to be safe. But what kind should I use? Soy? Hemp? Rice? There are so many different types of protein powder out there it can get a little overwhelming.

What I use the most right now:

What I like- This stuff has a ton of added vitamins plus 25 grams of soy protein. For the most part the ingredients seem natural and not processed. On sale for $9.99 is a win. Blends really well in smoothies for a great post-workout snack. I like that the powder is white so the smoothies still look as great as they taste unlike hemp protein.

SIAB are great post-workout snacks

What I don’t like- Some-what of a chalky flavor. To get the 25 grams of protein you must use 3 TBSPs which to me is a little over whelming on the flavor.

What I want in a protein powder- Something with no color, a great price, a good taste, and not processed.

If you use protein powder what do you look for? Any favorite kinds?

 

By the way readers, this is my 88th post and I’ll have something very special planned for my 100 post! Can’t wait!

Also, do you know HEAB? If so click here and keep yer mouth shut! :)

12 Responses to “Protein Powder Power!”

  1. Kylie @ A Hungry Spoon November 7, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    I’ve never used protein powder before! I usually don’t have a problem getting enough in with lots of raw nuts (and nut butter!) throughout the day, plus beans or lentils with dinner most nights.

    I’m with ya on the “Where do you get all your protein question”–people seem so shocked sometimes that you can actually get plenty of protein in a day without eating meat :)

    • vegansunshine November 8, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

      Oh I hear ya, I usually eat a ton of nuts and beans daily!

  2. Chocolate-Covered Katie November 7, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

    I kinda have an on-off relationship with Nutribiotic chocolate. Some days I like it, but then I go through months where I don’t want any.
    Thanks for helping to spread the word ;).

    • vegansunshine November 8, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

      I feel that way about a lot foods. I’ve had some chocolate protein powder sitting on my cupboard for awhile now. I never really crave chocolate smoothies and I’m too afraid to bake with it!

  3. Jess from Midwest Vegan November 8, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    I use Peaceful Planet protein powder. I got it off Amazon because there aren’t many places that sell vegan protein powder around here. The African vanilla soy flavor is awesome, but I use the African vanilla rice powder because soy gives me migraines. :( I find that most rice protein powders are a little bitter, so I usually use 1/2-3/4 the amount and add hemp seeds (when blended they’re not as strong as the actual hemp powder! Lol). This brand is vegan, some kinds don’t have any sugar, it has a good taste, no color (other than white?), and it blends very well. Oh, and it’s not that expensive, because I’m a broke ass college student too. :) I’d like to try the chocolate when my vanilla is gone.

    Also, I find with biology that if you go along with the syllabus and keep one chapter ahead of the lecture you’ll do good. It helps a lot if you read it first. Sometimes the professors are able to clarify information you don’t understand or the least you’re able to ask them better questions because you have more of a grasp on the material. You’ll do great. Biology, even advanced/honors biology, is like learning a new language. As long as you understand the terminology and the processes it defines, you’ll do great. :)

    • vegansunshine November 8, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

      Amazon has some great deals. I almost bought a rice protein powder today at Whole Foods but it was $30. I changed my mind at the last minute! $30? Come on. I never tired chocolate protein powder but I do have some stored in my kitchen somewhere! I think it’s trader joe’s brand.

      & Thanks! I’m planning on buying my bio book wayy early so I can get ahead. Trying to teach myself is going alright but it gets frustrating with all of the different terms!

  4. Simply Life November 8, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    I’ve never used a powder before – good to know!

  5. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan November 8, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    I would say Vega, but it’s way expensive…do NOT try rice protein, it literally tastes like ground chalk!
    Though it took me some time, I’ve come to appreciate hemp protein. It’s not too grassy if used in small amounts smoothies, and it’s pretty cheap (look for Bob’s Red Mill, I think theirs is the cheapest).

    • vegansunshine November 8, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

      I got a lil sample of vega at my local VegFest and it was very yummy and very expensive indeed. I did the math and it’s something like $1.75 a serving. Not worth it!

  6. Kelsey November 9, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    im still trying to find a good brand that 100% is the best. so far the closest ive come to is interactive nutritions vegetarian protein with soy and pea and rice i think… its pretty yums <3

    • vegansunshine November 9, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

      I’ve never heard of it before I’ll have to check it out, thanks!

  7. Ellen @ Undercover Runner Eats April 3, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    I have Gensoy Vanilla that I’ve been trying to choke down for the past year. I agree on the chalkiness. I can’t seem to be able to cover it up in my smoothies.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

