New Foods & Oatmeal Talk

11 Aug

Trader Joe’s & Whole Food’s

Diffidently worth the trip. I purchased lots of new fun foods from both stores on this trip like:

TINGSSS! I fell in love with these at Vegfest. They taste just like Cheetos’ without the nasty powdered cheese on top. And they are a lot healthier!

These are so fun! They taste like cheese puffs and have little flakes of dried seaweed in them.

How cute!

These are really good too. Most banana chips I’ve brought are thin and oily. These are thick and not too crunchy. They made a perfect post workout snack:

Carmel corn rice cake buttered with peanut butter and topped with almonds and banana chips

I bought a lot more food but I’ll have to show you later when I cook with them. One thing I did not photograph is all the sushi supplies Scott and I bought to make our own sushi! I can’t wait!

After shopping, we went to my favorite restaurant; Mind, Body & Spirits. I love growing here because all the food is not only outstanding but it’s all locally grown. When I say local, I mean they have a freakin’ greenhouse out back where they grow the foods to make your meal! The food is a little pricey but I am never regret eating here. I got a flat bread pizza with a tofu and avocado spread for “cheese” topped with black beans, plantains, greens and a sweet mango chutney.

I think this was my favorite meal at MBS so far.

So onto breakfast.  For breakfast this morning I had some tasty peach-blueberry oatmeal.

Oatmeal is my favorite. It’s so quick to make and so satisfying for breakfast.

So oatmeal is pretty healthy. But what about instant oatmeal, is that still healthy too?

Believe it or not, natural instant oatmeal provides just as much nutrition as the old-fashion slow cooked type. Instant oatmeal is still a whole grain therefore, a complex carb (aka good carbs). Oatmeal is a great source of fiber and helps keep blood sugar levels stable (and not to mention so fun dress up!) The only difference in the two is the glycemic index (GI). The Glycemic index is a measure of the effects of carbohydrates on blood sugar levels. A high level of GI, such as instant oatmeal, digests a lot faster compared to old-fashion oats which would keep your tummy full longer! Instant oatmeal is processed to cook a lot quicker and because of that the oatmeal is broken down and digested faster by your body. Pretty impressive, right?

Well, that’s enough for today, time for work! Stay tuned to learn how to make sushi!

2 Responses to “New Foods & Oatmeal Talk”

  1. leashieloo August 11, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    Yum! I want Tings!

    • vegansunshine August 11, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

      Tings are the greatest! I was so sad Whole Foods only had one bag left.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

